Bike service

Got a free service for the bike today, courtesy of my work, which arranges for Dr Bike to come in ever so often.  It was needing the gears adjusted, as the cables are stretched now and the gears were slipping.  Since it had already had the post purchase service from the shop, I would have had to pay £20 for a basic service, just to get the cables adjusted, so this was good timing, and it saved me £25.
I also picked up some info on the bike servicing courses they run, and will definitely look into doing them in the near future.  If you know what you’re doing, you can go to the shop and hire a service bay and all the tools, for £4 an hour, which is damn good.  But first I have to know what I’m doing 😀  (They do have mechanics on hand to help out if need be).

What I thought was pretty cool, was the checklist they gave me with what they’d done ticked off, had a box for comments from the mechanic.  In mine he’d written “Great bike”.  Made my day.

Categories: cycling | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Bike service

  1. Dra Martha Castro Médico WMA

    That was awesome, indeed. No one in my neck of the woods would do that hahaha. Cheers.

    • Yeah, I work in a university, and they’re actively trying to encourage cycling as part of their sustainable campus, along with recycling etc. We set up a cycling group on Facebook, and staff and students who join, get free use of the showers and lockers in the gym for changing after commuting.
      Every little helps.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

