Home again home again, jiggedy jig.

So we’re back from the trip to Dubai/Malaysia, and it was awesome.  I’ll get some pics up later this week, when I get a chance, but basically Dubai was scorchio (43C) and Malaysia was humid (80% humidity) and scorchio.  Dubai was about £8 for a beer (so I didn’t have any) and Malaysia about £2 for a small or £3 for a damn big one.  So I did.

We found cheap places to eat in Dubai, and Malaysia was just a lot cheaper anyway.  Food was great in both places.
I liked Dubai, but I really don’t know if I could go there on a proper holiday (we did 2 nights either side of Malaysia), as it’s blisteringly hot, and seems to revolve around shopping malls, unlike any other Arab country I’ve been to.  It’s also very clean and orderly and not at all dusty and ramshackle, like – for instance – Morocco, and I do like a the chaos of those places over the sanitised version that is Dubai.  (That’s not to say I didn’t like Dubai, I did.)
Malaysia, I loved.  KL was amazing, and while I thought the driverless metro system in Dubai was great, the monorail in KL trumped it.  Street food in KL was superb, and then Penang, with it’s stunning coastline, and Georgetown, which was fun to just wander round and get lost in.

I’d love to go back to KL and to a different part of Malaysia – Langkawi maybe, instead of Penang, and I will be back in Dubai for stopovers in the future.

Categories: travel | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

