Running update

This morning I went for my 5.5k route through the park next to my house.
It wasn’t great today, my legs felt like lead.

I know I’ve only been back running for three weeks, and it’s after a gap of 5 or 6 years, but it’s hard not to let the head games get the better of you.  In my mind I’ve not really had that long lay-off, and I should be able to go for a “wee 10 miler*” as I used to refer to them, or push it a wee bit if I’ve got time, and do 15 miles.

I know the problem isn’t physical, the stamina will come, my muscles will get used to running again (at the moment they seem to be confused that I’m using them in a different way to cycling, and they aren’t keen on it), the breathing is ok too, it’s just head games.  My brain is trying to psyche me out.

I need to get back to running with other people, to distract me from this.  When I run on my own I have too much time to let my mind wander and scream “What are you doing?  Give up.”  I’m not giving up.  No way.

So, I need to persevere, vary the routes, do some hill reps and/or shorter faster sessions.  I also need a running buddy to stop me slacking.  That’s what I loved about running with the club, but until I’m up to the minimum pace, that’s not a realistic option.

So, any tips to avoid you’re mind psyching you out on a solo run would be greatly appreciated 😀

(*my wife thought I’d crossed a line, when 10 miles was referred to as a “wee” run).

Categories: fitness, running | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

