Back running

Over the weekend, I managed to get out for my first run this year.
I’ve been really lazy, and got the “can’t be arsed” stage, as it seemed like a huge wall was up between me and running, but on Saturday night, I left out the running gear, and on Sunday morning I got up and went out.  I have to admit I almost didn’t as it was raining, but I thought “Sod it.” and went anyway.

At 7.00am, I pretty much had Pollok estate to myself, and only saw another 3 or 4 people running.  I’m really lucky to have this park literally on my doorstep, and sometimes I take it for granted.

The rain was soon forgotten (I have always had a problem setting out in the rain.  I don’t mind it starting once I’m out, but seeing it rain before I set off makes it hard for me to get out the door) and I was quickly just enjoying the run and the “me” time.

As I haven’t run in about six months, I took it easy, and just did a wee loop that comes in at just under 5.5k.  A nice wee easy pace too.

Thighs were a bit achey the next day, but in a good way.  I also felt really good for the rest of the day.  That’s one of the things I love about running.  I always feel better about myself and life in general when I’m running.  My wife thinks I’m a lot happier a person and more positive when I run, so it does have benefits for mental well-being as well as physical health benefits.

Anyway, here’s a wee pic from a few years ago when I was a member of Bellahouston Road Runners (when I get back up to speed, I plan to re-join).  I’m the one in the purple vest.

clydebank2006b

Categories: fitness, running | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

