Bike to work scheme round 2

Despite promising myself I wouldn’t get a second bike, I’ve applied for the bike to work scheme again.

That could be considered a fail, or a win.

Anyway, going to go for a cyclocross bike, as I couldn’t decide between a mtb and a road bike.  OK, I won’t be attempting anything that I could kill myself doing on a mtb, BUT I can commute faster, AND do some single track as well.  Looking forward to a bike with drop handlebars again as well.

Pics to be posted when I get the bike.

(*REALITY CHECK – Last night I realised that I just don’t have the space to store another bike.  Since I don’t want to get rid of my current bike (a Giant Escape M1) I’m putting the new bike on hold.  It’s going to give me a chance to decide if I want to go back to drop bars or not.  If I’m still keen on the idea next year, I’ll sell on the Giant and get something else.  – Or we could just get a bigger house with a garage…….)

Categories: cycling | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Bike to work scheme round 2

  1. I commute using a vintage cruiser. I got it at a surplus shop and it’s pretty cheap. Quite a steal. If I use my mtb for commute, it will end up getting stolen. Congrats in advance with your new bike! 🙂

  2. Cheers 😀
    I’m looking forward to picking it up and getting out on it. I’ll probably put a rack on the old bike and use it for hitting the co-operative shop that’s a couple of miles from me (they buy fuit//veg from local allotments/gardens, and sell them) and use the new bike for commuting and longer runs.

  3. Right, Plan B. I have about 6 months till the scheme goes live again, which gives me 6 months to clear space in the shed, AND make a definite choice about what bike I want, rather than have a selection of 3 or 4 that I can’t actually choose between……

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

