First race in 7 years

Yesterday I took part in my first race since I stopped running 7 years ago.  It was the Men’s Health Forum Scotland 5k.  I’ve only been back running for the last four weeks, so I was just looking to get round, and not worrying about a time.  So it was really good to come in with a time of 25:05.  I’ve looked back at times I got when I was in the running club, and they were around 22/23 minutes for a 5k, so I’m really chuffed with my time.

The plan now is to up the millage and not concentrate on speed.  Then I can get back to doing 10k’s regularly, and then up the millage to 10 milers, like I used to do for training runs in the past. (You know you’ve crossed a line when you you say you’ve been for a “wee 10 miler” when someone asks what you did when you were out running)

For the moment though, I’m basking in the glow of my result from yesterday.Image

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

