Re-evaluating my activities

For seven years, I was in a running club.  I loved it.  During that time, a karate club started up in my work, and I went along as I thought it would be fun and a good way to keep fit outwith the running.  I also thought it would be good for my self confidence, and self discipline.

About five years ago I had an attack of gout and couldn’t walk never mind run.  When I was able to walk again, I went back to the running club, and discovered my stamina and fitness levels had crashed and burned.  Not being keen on running on my own, getting back to where I had been wasn’t going to happen (lack of self discipline) and the running pettered out, and was replaced by the karate.

About a month or so ago, I got a notion and when out for a run.  Sure it was short and slow, but here’s the thing.  I loved it.  I got the buzz again that I used to get all those years ago.  I also found that I could run on my own thanks to some self discipline from the karate.

In the time since, I’ve also discovered, that (like the running) the majority of people who go to the karate, eat, sleep and breathe it.  I’ve realised that I don’t.  It’s just something I do.  Yes I enjoy it, but if the club folded and I couldn’t do it again, I don’t think I’d be that bothered.  I’ve also discovered that sport wise, running is definitely my first love.  Especially now that I seem to be in a frame of mind that lets me go for a solo run AND push myself.  That’s something I could never do before.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

