Biting the bullet. (but putting it off for a couple of weeks)

About 5 years ago I got an attack of gout.  Prior to that I’d been in a running club for about 7 years, and had regularly raced in 10k’s, half marathons, and one full marathon.

When the gout struck, I couldn’t walk, much less run, and when it finally cleared up, and I could get out running again, my fitness level had dropped dramatically, and I had to run with a slower group at the club, and got discouraged, and quit.

Now, I’ve got the itch to go running again.  Fortunately I didn’t get rid of my running gear.  I’ve got a new pair of running shoes, and I’m well aware that it will be a while before my 10k time creeps towards 40 mins again (if indeed it ever does).  So with that in mind, I’ve arranged to go out twice a week at lunchtime, with a colleague from work, and I’ll do a longer run on my own at the weekend.

I even picked up some new kit, and have been reading articles on the Runners World website to try and inspire myself, and to help me re-discover what I loved about running, before I became obsessed with trying to get a sub 40 min 10k. (My pb was 40:02)

But first, there’s a trip to Cape Verde to do first.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

