Getting off-line and getting a life

Technology is great.  Really great.  If you think about it, some of the stuff in Star Trek is here.  Look at the shows, they use what amounts to tablets, and communicators = mobile phones.

I’ve a small bit of tech that fits in my pocket.  I can talk to people all over the work with it.  I can connect to the internet with it, where pretty much all of humanity’s knowledge is now residing (if you can filter out the white noise).  And (the really useful bit) with built in GPS and Google Earth/maps, there’s no need to be lost.  Ever.

But, here’s the sad thing.  Too many people are living life THROUGH this technology, instead of using it to get out there and really LIVE.  Now, if you’re disabled and can’t leave the house, that’s fair enough.  In fact, it brings the world outside, right to the palm of your hand.  But, if you’re perfectly able bodied, the more time your spending online/playing Candy Crush (or whatever), the less time you’re spending living life.
Some people are obsessed with checking in on Foursquare.  Now if you’re actually out and about, and using it to let friends know “Hey I’m in this coffee shop, come find me and catch up”, then that’s cool.

BUT

If you’re just checking in places because you can, well, is that really living?  Is that a life?  Checking in should be a means to an end (letting people know where you are so they can meet up), and not an end in itself.

A while back we went on holiday and I forgot to pick up my phone.  For the first couple of days I actually felt like I was missing out, then I realised I was off the grid, and the freedom that came with that was incredible.  Ok, I got home and fell into my old ways, but now, I try and get out as much as possible, and actually DO things, and not just sit online and post, well, shite if truth be told.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

