Downsizing harder that it should be

Even though I’m desperately trying to clear out stuff that’s accumulated over the years, it just seems like for every book/cd/dvd I get rid of, 3 more find there way back into the house.  With Christmas looming on the horizon, it’s going to be bad.  I know my mum will (a) buy me “stuff” and (b) throw in an HMV voucher as well, just in case the stuff isn’t enough, ‘cos you can never have too much stuff now can you?

I’d prefer it if she just thought about what I actually like, and gave me a small thing that was suitable, rather than a pile of things that I’ll never use, and have to hang on to for an appropriate amount of time before taking them to the charity shop.

If that all sounds a bit whiney, it’s because it is.  BUT, it’s not all been bad news on the clearout front.  I finally got round to dismantling the Ikea computer desk, and getting rid on that.  I’ve not had a desktop for years now, and it’s been sitting there taking up space, and slowly vanishing under a pile of….. (wait for it)…..stuff.  Well, no more.  That stuff is gone and so is the computer desk.  I’m thinking of recycling the printer as well, since I hardly ever need to print, and can always do it in work if.  The only things I’ve printed out in the last year have been KGB/Wowcher vouchers for meals.  The ink dries up before it can get a chance to run out, and lets face it, replacing the printer is only slightly more expensive than replacing the ink, so it’s not like it will cost a fortune to replace if the need arises.  I’m still swithering on that to be honest, but it’s an option.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

