Re-assessing life

I’ve been thinking a fair bit recently about what I do in my spare time.  I’m not sure it’s what I want to be doing (at least not all of it), it’s some things I’ve started to do, then fallen into the habit, and it’s easier to go with the flow than stop and think about what else to fill the time with.

I’ve been going to the pub after work with a couple of friends from work, but I’ve been going because I’ve fallen into the habit of going, not because I actually want to be there. (I hasten to add, it’s not every day!)  Thing is, my wife and I usually meet up with one of them for a couple of hours on a Sunday, so it’s not like I won’t see them.

In the evenings, apart from a Thursday when I have a guitar lesson, I pretty much don’t do anything.  Up until I got a flare up of gout about three years back, I used to run at least three times a week.  I still have all my running gear and I’ve been thinking about getting back into it.  A couple of friends who run have suggested I try trail/hill running instead of road running.  I have to say I’m tempted.

For a couple of years, a girl in work used to run a once a week early morning yoga class.  Now, personally I find yoga boring.  Really boring.  BUT, I went to this class almost religiously, because I loved the way I felt afterwards.  I know it’s good for you, and I’d like to get back into it again, but without a class there’s not much chance of that, as I struggle to force myself to do it, as, like I said, I find it boring.  This is weird because like I say I love how I feel afterwards.  I also love when I see photos of people doing yoga in nice outdoor locations.  It looks fantastic.  Last year, we spent three weeks travelling round India, and (especially) in Kerala, there was a lot of yoga classes and people wandering round with yoga mats.  I think if I moved there I could easily fall into that way of life.

Anyway, changes need to be done.  There’s no point de-cluttering the house if I don’t de-clutter myself.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

